HINCKLEY AND BOSWORTH BOROUGH COUNCIL

STANDARDS COMMITTEE

5 APRIL 2012 AT 10.00 AM

PRESENT: Mr MD Clarricoats, Mrs D Finney, Mr M Fryer, Mrs WA Hall,

Mr CJ Headley, Mr DW Inman, Mr LJP O'Shea, Mr DA Reid and

Mr ABG Stokes

Officers in attendance: Denise Bonser and Louisa Horton

468 <u>APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN</u>

On the motion of Mr Fryer, seconded by Mrs Hall it was

RESOLVED – Mr Stokes be appointed as Chairman for this meeting.

469 MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

On the motion of Mr Inman, seconded by Mr Headley it was

<u>RESOLVED</u> – the minutes of the meeting held on 27 January 2012 be confirmed and signed by the Chairman.

470 <u>DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST</u>

No interests were declared at this stage.

471 <u>UPDATE REPORT ON PROGRESS TO IMPLEMENT THE NEW STANDARDS REGIME</u>

The Monitoring Officer updated the Committee of the proposed changes to the Standards regime in light of the Localism Act. The borough and district councils of Leicestershire are working together to produce a unified approach throughout the county.

RESOLVED -

- (i) Standards Committee note the changes made to the regime;
- (ii) concern was expressed as to the increased workload of the Monitoring Officer;
- (iii) the committee recommended to Council a minimum of 5 Independent Persons be appointed; and
- (iv) the committee suggested a letter be sent to the Secretary of State highlighting the extra pressures officers and members will face under the new regime.

472 MATTER FROM WHICH THE PUBLIC MAY BE EXCLUDED

<u>RESOLVED</u> - in accordance with Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 the public be excluded from the remaining item of business on the ground that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraphs 9 and 13 of Part I of Schedule 12A of that Act.

	Mr O'Shea declared a personal and prejudicial interest and left the meeting.
473	CONSIDERATION OF THE APPEAL OF LAR0066A
	On the motion of Mr Inman, seconded by Mr Fryer it was
	RESOLVED - that the committee contest the appeal.
	(The Meeting closed at 1.00 pm)

CHAIRMAN